Emerging Writers Playreading

Black Swan State Theatre Company's Emerging Writers' Group has been the hotbed for many successful plays, and has amongst its alumni Gita Bezard, Chris Isaacs, Tyler Jacob Jones, Frieda Lee, Joe Lui, Will O'Mahony, Zoe Pepper, Clare Testoni and Mararo Wangai. 

The 2018 Emerging Writers Group at Black Swan is composed of four emerging playwrights: Janelle Koenig, James McMillan, Samantha Murray, and Morgan Owen. Over four months they will each write a new first draft with the dramaturgy and guidance from Black Swan's Director of New Writing - Jeffrey Jay Fowler.

The goal of the Emerging Writers' Group is to foster Western Australia's next generation of unique, brave and challenging theatrical voices and to pave the wave for live performance that is an integral part of Perth's culture.  All play readings with our 2018 EWG are free to attend.

  • Clock Icon

    Event Showings

    Saturday 24 November

    11am and 4pm 

  • Dollar Icon



  • Location Marker Icon


    573 Hay Street

    Perth WA 6000

  • Wheelchair Icon


    Wheelchair Access

Visit website